Defeated

Here I stand

I admit defeat.

I’m lifeless, still

I’m incomplete.

 

My hands up

I surrender.

I can give no more

My heart’s too tender.

 

Head hung low

I close my eyes.

I think of all

That’s been sacrificed.

 

A silent cry

no tears to shed.

I’ve wept them all

inside I’m dead.

 

My heavy limbs

throb and ache.

I shuffle forward

and start to shake.

 

I give up,

I’m worn out.

So many scars

of fear and doubt

 

I can’t think,

no thought emerges

There’s nothingness,

no drive, no urges.

 

Then it happens,

exhaustion gives way

to the breaking dawn

of a brand new day.

 

Morning light,

sun on my skin.

I raise my head

to breathe it in.

 

A slow exhale

and the tension eases.

A cloudless sky

of summer breezes.

 

New promises

must take shape.

There’ll be fresh hope.

Release, escape.

 

I’ll re-emerge

from the gloom

a budding flower

about to bloom.

2 thoughts on “Defeated

Leave a Reply

